Can You Live in an RV in Texas? Is It Legal?

can you live in an rv in texas

Living in a trailer in Texas is legal. So, yes – you can definitely live in an RV in Texas, as long as you comply with the requirements from the Texas government regarding paperwork and parking laws, etc.

Here’s a more in-depth discussion on how can you live in an RV in Texas.

Is It Legal to Live in RVs in Texas? Things to Consider


Living in an RV in Texas is 100% legal, but it is not as easy as 1-2-3. So, before we talk about the legal requirements needed to allow you to live in an RV in Texas, there are some things that you may want to consider first.

  • Amenities: Living in a motorhome could be a challenge if you’re used to living in a house or an apartment. Electricity and water supply just don’t come to you with a click of a button.
  • Parking: You can’t just park your RV anywhere. You have to find legal motorhome parking lots, such as parks or campgrounds, unless you put the vehicle on your own land.

These establishments also have their own rules regarding the maximum number of occupants per campsite (often two to four people), alcohol or drug possession, as well as weapon and firearm ownership.

  • Fuel Costs: Being on the go means that you may have to spend more on fuel. Ensure that you can maintain such costs before deciding to live in an RV full-time.
  • Maintenance: A motorhome is still considered a vehicle. Vehicles undergo a lot of maintenance and repairs from time to time, so be ready for this.

If you’re up for all of these, then living in an RV may just be right for you.

Legal Considerations for Living in an RV in Texas

Texas isn’t strict when it comes to RV rules and regulations, and their protocol is relatively easy to follow. Here are the Texas RV living laws that you should know:

1. Registration and Licensing Requirements


To live in an RV on your property, you’ll need to have a valid and registered RV license from the state.

When you have this, you can live in your motorhome for as long as you want, provided that you establish your residency and submit the right documentation for it.

Speaking of residency or domicile, here are the general steps:

  • Get a Texas address. You can use a mailbox service for this step.
  • Make sure your RV passess the state inspection.
  • Then fill out a vehicle registration form at the Texas county tax office, and bring along these documents:
    • Vehicle insurance, inspection, registration documents
    • Documentation proving the RV’s unloaded weight
    • Photos of your RV and its bill of sale
    • Title application
    • Your ID

If you plan to drive your RV, you should be at least 25 years old. But if you’re the passenger, you can walk and move around your moving camper only if you’re at least 18 years old.

If you’re renting an RV, the same rules follow, with an additional Motor Vehicle Report that you have to complete beforehand, as well as a written lease that mentions you’re a tenant (if you’re renting it out for more than 12 months).

On the other hand, if you’re renting your RV out as an Airbnb or any other type of accommodation, the same rules as living in an RV apply, with the addition that your vehicle should be in a livable condition with water and electricity available.

2. Parking and Zoning Laws


  • If you have a property in Texas, you can park your RV there, as long as you have your license. However, if you live in a town or city with an HOA (Homeowners’ Association) committee, you may have to seek approval from them.
  • Street parking on asphalt or concrete is also allowed, provided that the property on that street is a side yard and at least one acre in size, and that you park for less than 72 hours. However, additional fees may apply if it’s a holiday.
  • If you choose to park on private campgrounds and parks, they have the right to impose the fees, as this isn’t regulated by Texas RV laws.
  • State-owned parks, however, may be free. Just have your rental agreement and license with a clean record to be able to park.

3. Child Laws


Is it legal to live in your recreational vehicle with a child? Yes, children are permitted to live in recreational vehicles in Texas. There is currently no law in Texas that prohibits them from staying in such areas.

Of course, you should have custody of and take care of your kid’s educational and medical needs while living in the RV.


Living in a recreational vehicle might seem like a dream come true – with all the road trips that you can go on in the comfort of your home!

And what is better than knowing that living in an RV in Texas is completely possible? As long as you have your valid license from the state and a parking space that you can use long-term, you’re good to go!

We hope that this article answers all your inquiries regarding ‘Can you live in an RV in Texas?’ So, consider your options well. Happy RVing!

5/5 - (2 votes)